Keeping up my Christmas lights

K. Robertson
3 min readJan 19, 2022

Last Christmas I invested in a set of string lights — solar string lights. I wanted lights outside my house without JPS (the electricity company) charging me an arm and a leg. I wasn’t yet sure of what design I’d go with but I knew I wanted lights outside. I love the excitement that they bring. I love how they sparkle. I love being almost surprised to see them each and every day, even though I know they are there. There is just something lovely about Christmas lights.

So I went to Amazon and found some that I thought would work (pic below). I found a set of 2 lights for under $20 USD and I went for it. They are really long and the wire is very fragile. However, after they charge they are pretty bright. They even have several modes. So you can lights that are steady or blink or blink in a pattern! Absolutely lovely!!

amazon.com

I bought the lights in September and had them up by October. Fortunately, Halloween and Thanksgiving aren’t very big in Jamaica, so I didn’t have to worry about having to decorate for other occasions. It was full-blown Christmas decor time! Woo-hoo!! They worked without issue from that time until now. I am very happy with them and I don’t wanna put them away. To that end, I decided to…

--

--

K. Robertson

I am magical. A lover of love, food and Christmas. Work? Customer retention and operations.